Life inside the lines

After graduating college, the plan seemed pretty straight forward. Get a job, keep studying for a masters degree, work off the student loans, and eventually get promoted within that same company for a possible job for the rest of your life.

That’s what you want right?

I didn’t even think twice. It’s just the normality of the process.

There’s a phase after college I have gotten some feedback about. The feeling of being thrown into the same pile as everyone else. I think once someone even told me “it’s normal to feel like you’re just following the lines, you’ll get over it”.

Is that really what we have to look forward to? Just getting over the feeling of being processed through a societal fitting block?

I’m not sure what the next step is, especially after giving into working a meaningless restaurant job while other career job offers weren’t exactly knocking down my doors and to at least start paying some of those minuscule student loans.

But I’m also not sure that this should be a “normal” phase for people to go through. The more I wait to be offered the job of my dreams, the more I question if it’s what I really want out of my life.

To live, to ones fullest potential, I believe you must be in a constant state of learning, growing, and wonder.

Maybe there is something waiting around the corner that gives all of these elements a chance to show itself within the boundaries of society. But I also have a feeling that if I want to experience all these things for myself, I must first commit to steering outside the lines.

Leave a Reply

